1834 Society

1834 Society: Leadership Giving to the School of Medicine

The 1834 Society is named for the year the Medical College of Louisiana, now Tulane University School of Medicine, opened its doors. Three young doctors, Thomas Hunt, Warren Stone and John Harrison – all under the age of 27 – took a leadership role in the future of medicine in the south, making Tulane University the second oldest medical school in the Deep South and the 15th oldest medical school in the United States.

To honor the leadership of these young men, we recognize our leadership donors in the 1834 Society. With a gift of $1,500 or more each year, supporters are recognized as philanthropic leaders at the School of Medicine.

Benefits of Membership

  • Invitations to social events with Tulane University and the School of Medicine faculty members, students and other benefactors.

  • Invitations to on-campus lectures and events. 

  • Annual recognition in the Tulane Medicine magazine donor honor roll and on the School of Medicine giving website.

  • Those that give to the General Support Fund also enjoy membership in the Associates Program, the university wide leadership giving recognition club.

  • Associates Concierge provides assistance with coordinating on-campus meetings and information on Tulane-related topics and events of interest. More information about the Associates Concierge will be sent to you upon receipt of your membership gift.

  • Associates Benefits Card provides special hotel discounts.

Levels of Giving

  • Thomas Hunt Circle ($50,000+)
    Named for one of the founders and the first Dean of the Medical College of Louisiana, Thomas Hunt is the individual who recognized that "a close relationship with Charity Hospital could provide ample clinical facilities and subjects for dissection – essential to the medical school's success".

  • Warren Stone Circle ($25,000 - $49,000)
    Warren Stone joined Dr. Hunt in the founding of the Medical College of Louisiana. The first commencement was April 5, 1836 where 11 students graduated.

  • John H. Harrison Circle ($10,000 - $24,999)
    John H. Harrison was the third doctor who assisted in founding the Medical College of Louisiana. He succeeded Dr. Hunt as Dean of the College when Thomas Hunt became President of the University. In 1834, all three founders were under the age of 27.

  • Tobias G. Richardson Circle ($5,000 - $9,999)
    Richardson is credited for assisting Thomas Hunt, who at that time was President of the University, in reopening the Medical College after the Civil War ended. In 1877, Richardson also led a move to increase degree requirements to three years of study and to lengthen the school year.

  • Linda H. Coleman Circle ($2,500 - $4,999)
    In 1917, Dr. Linda Coleman achieved dual "firsts": the first female to graduate from Tulane School of Medicine and the first woman to graduate medical school in Louisiana.

  • Rudolph Matas Circle ($1,500 - $2,499)
    Universally recognized as the Father of Vascular Surgery, Rudolph Matas graduated from the Medical College in 1880. In the twilight of his long and illustrious career, Matas said of the Tulane Medical Department: "I have a feeling of affection and reverence for it, almost like that of a son for his mother, for it was the mother that opened the door of everything for me in medicine." 
Please contact Holly Gulden, Associate Vice President for Advancement and Executive Director for Development, at hgulden@tulane.edu or 504.314.7625 for more information on the 1834 Society or making a gift to the School of Medicine.